FAMIGRO - An Award for Rural Entrepreneurship

The GROTENFELT family represents more than 350 years of diversified landowning in Finland. Famigro was founded by Karl GROTENFELT in 1985, a private company belonging to the family. In 2013, Karl created the Famigro Award, which is granted annually to a young (18 to 40) European countryside entrepreneur who has been making a special contribution to the rural economy, community and environment. Thanks to the initiative of Karl GROTENFELT, each year the YFCS can support an innovative project that has been operational for at least 2 years and provides answers to the current challenges of the rural sector.

Entrepreneurial projects contribute to the evolution of our rural countryside, while the respect of the environment and social responsibility is endorsed by each rural entrepreneur. The aim of the Famigro Award is to improve the project’s success and growth by benefiting from the support of the network of the Friends of the Countryside (FCS) and Young Friends of the Countryside (YFCS), as well as the European Landowners’ Organization (ELO).

The winner receives 5,000€, an article published in the Countryside Magazine and the opportunity to join the FCS & YFCS General Assembly in Siena, Italy in June 2024.

The application period has officially closed. We appreciate your interest, and we will keep you informed about the winner.

Our applicants and winners in recent years come from a wide range of industries and countries who have achieved great innovations with their unique ideas. From an innovative bio based soil additive, to rebranding a family estate, to a Regenerative Farming community in Spain and more.

Previous winners include: Silvibio, Gut Waltersteig, La Junquera, Coconat, Coucoo, Wildernest Tiny House and Wignac Cidre.


Aged 18 to 40.

European entrepreneur.

Innovative rural project that has been operational for at least 2 years.


The 2024 edition opens November 6, 2023 and applications should be sent before February 1, 2024.



Previous winners

2023WinnerSilviBio - Alicja DziecoilLink
2023Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsWe Wilder - Oana MondocLink
2022WinnerJunquera Gut Waltersteig GbR Karl-Ludwig von PoschingerLink
2022Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsJohan Ljungquist & Mikael Olenmark Gårdsfisk Scandinavian Aquasystems ABLink
2021WinnerLa Junquera Regenerative Farm and Entrepreneurship HUBLink
2021Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsFlourish ProduceLink
2021Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsGut Waltersteig GbRLink
2021Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsIn OvoLink
2021Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsLettUs GrowLink
2020Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsDomaine Le Grand CasteletLink
2020Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsFlourish ProduceLink
2020Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsLynbreck CroftLink
2020Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsVanhakylä gårdLink
2019No winner
2019Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsBaron Island Falconry ExperienceLink
2019Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsFinca Rincón del Rosario
2019Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsFumal
2019Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsSeedForward GmbHLink
2019Diploma for Outstanding DevelopmentsSIRPLUS GmbHLink
2017WinnerWildernest Tiny HouseLink
2016WinnerWignac Cidre NaturelLink

Related tags

Related policies